Dundonald Old Mill - Coffee House and Gift Shop in Belfast, Northern Ireland
The Buildings Title
Dundonald Old Mill - Coffee House and Gift Shop in Belfast, Northern Ireland
Coffee Shop restaurant and tourist attraction in Dundonald, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Todays Menu
Gift Shop offering unique souvenirs and local crafts in Dundonald, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Whats new at the dundonald old mill
Visitor Comments
Celebrate christmas at Dundonald Old Mill - A magical experience
The Buildings - built by Hugh Barnett in Killarn, History - Dundonald, Northern Ireland
The Water Wheel - Ireland waterwheel restored at east Belfast tourism attraction, co Down
Contact Us

Hugh Barnett Stone PanelThis mill was built in 1752 by Hugh Barnett in the townland of Killarn, as can be seen on the stone panel on the side of the building. Originally it was a linen bleaching mill which housed a wash mill, boiling house, drying loft and beetling room.

By 1834 the buildings were in the possession of William Stitt of Comber, at which stage the bleachworks was driven by two water wheels, 14’ and 18’ in diameter. Around 1850 the property was acquired by a Newtownards baker named Munce, Photo of Miller's Housewho converted the buildings to a corn mill driven by a new 32’ diameter wheel.

The mill is a rubble built ‘T’ shaped complex, which comprises the former mill, kiln house and miller’s house. The mill section with the water wheel on the south façade intersects at a right angle to the kiln house, the gable of which faces the road.

The miller’s house is attached to the kiln house and its front façade has a historically interesting central ‘Ards’ doorway with blocked pilasters and architrave with keystone.